What Is a General Education Diploma?

A GED can be a great option for those who didn’t finish high school. Here’s what you need to know about general education diplomas.

Checkout this video:

What is a GED?

A GED is a General Educational Development certificate. It is an alternative to a high school diploma. The GED is recognized by most colleges and employers. To earn a GED, you must pass a test that covers five subject areas: reading, writing, social studies, science, and mathematics.

History of the GED

The GED began in the 1940s as a way to help WWII veterans finish high school. The program has evolved over the years, but its goal remains the same: to provide adults with an opportunity to earn an equivalent to a high school diploma.

In order to take the GED test, you must be at least 16 years old (18 in some states) and not currently enrolled in high school. You must also meet your state’s residency requirements. The test is composed of five sections: Language Arts (Reading and Writing), Social Studies, Science, and Math. You must pass all five sections to earn your GED.

The GED is recognized by colleges and employers as equivalent to a high school diploma, and can open up opportunities for further education and better jobs. If you’re looking for a way to improve your life and reach your full potential, earning your GED is a great place to start.

Who is eligible to take the GED?

The GED is a high school equivalency test that is open to anyone who is not currently enrolled in high school and is at least 16 years old. There is no age limit, but test-takers must not be enrolled in high school. You must also meet your state’s residency requirements.

To be eligible to take the GED, you must be a resident of the state in which you plan to take the test. You will also need to provide proof of identity and residency, such as a driver’s license, state ID card, or passport. Some states may require additional documentation, such as a birth certificate or Social Security card.

You will need to have your documents ready when you register for the test, so be sure to check with your testing center for specific requirements.

If you’re not sure whether you’re eligible to take the GED, contact your local GED testing center or check online for more information about your state’s requirements.

How is the GED test structured?

The GED test is made up of four subtests, or sections. You can take the subtests all at once or one at a time. The four sections are:

-Reasoning Through Language Arts (RLA): Reading and writing
-Social Studies
-Mathematical Reasoning

You need to score at least 145 on each subtest to pass, for a total score of 580. If you don’t pass a subtest, you can take it again. There is no limit to how many times you can take each subtest, but you must wait at least 60 days before retesting.

What is the passing score for the GED?

In order to pass the GED, you must score at least 145 on each of the four sections of the test: Math, Science, Social Studies, and Language Arts. You can find practice tests and other resources to help you prepare for the GED at your local library or online.

How do I prepare for the GED?

The GED is a test that measures your knowledge in math, science, social studies, and reading. You can take the GED at a testing center or, in some states, online.

You don’t need to take any classes to prepare for the GED, but we recommend that you brush up on your skills before taking the test. There are a few different ways to do this:
1. Take a GED class offered by your local community college or adult education program.
2. Study on your own with a GED prep book.
3. Prepare for the GED with an online course.

What are the benefits of taking the GED?

There are many benefits to taking the GED. The GED can help you:

– Get a better job
– Make more money
– Get into college
– Improve your reading, writing, and math skills

The GED is also a good way to show employers that you have the same skills as someone who has a high school diploma.

Where can I take the GED?

The GED is offered at many public high schools, adult education centers, and community colleges. You can also take the GED online. The cost of the test varies depending on the testing center, but it is usually around $100.

How much does the GED cost?

The cost of the GED varies depending on the location of the test and whether you take it online or in person. The GED can be taken at an official GED testing center, which will charge a fee for the test. The fee for taking the GED online is usually lower than the in-person fee.

I failed the GED. Now what?

Don’t worry – you’re not alone. In fact, about 60% of people who take the GED fail it the first time. The good news is that you can retake the test as many times as you need to in order to pass it.

Retaking the test is not always easy, but it is definitely doable. You will need to put in some extra effort to make sure that you are fully prepared for the exam this time around. Here are a few tips:

-Get a study guide and use it. There are plenty of great guides out there that can help you understand the material and review for the exam. Find one that works for you and use it to your advantage.

-Talk to your local GED testing center. They can usually provide you with some helpful resources and advice on how to prepare for the test.

-Take practice tests. There are many free practice tests available online. Taking these tests will help you get an idea of what to expect on the actual exam and allow you to identify any areas where you need further study.

-Make a study schedule and stick to it. It is important to set aside time each day or each week to study for the GED. If you can, try to find a quiet place where you can focus on your work. And don’t forget to take breaks – too much studying can be just as bad as not studying at all!

Scroll to Top